Achievements & Awards

Young Referee of the Year

The West Virginia Soccer Association and the State Referee Program honor one young female and one young male referee each year who exemplify high levels of commitment to personal development, promotion of the game and involvement in the community.

Anyone can nominate a young referee for consideration, and there is no limit to the number of nominations any one person may submit.  Honorees are selected by the State Referee Committee which includes representation from the WV Soccer Association.  Nominees must be 18 years old or younger as of July 31 of the selection year.  Deadlines for nominations are September 1 of the selection year.

Recipients will honored at the annual WVSA Hall of Fame Banquet and also be nominated for the US Youth Soccer East Region Young Male and Female Referees of the Year.

4/11/2024 — Nominations for the 2024 WV Young Referees of the Year have not opened yet. Please check again at a later date.

2023 WV Young Referees of the Year

John Allen

Athens, WV

Elise Moll

Webster Springs, WV

Previous WV Young Referees of the Year


Female: Elise Moll — Webster Springs

Male: John Allen* — Athens


Female: Audrey Deutsch** — Huntington

Male: Elliot Chang— Morgantown


Not awarded due to the COVID-19 Pandemic


Female: Emma Hedrick — Fairmont

Male: Austin Guthrie — Cross Lanes


Female: Bree Moll — Webster Springs

Male: Skylar Jackson — Wierton


Female: Bree Moll — Webster Springs

Male: Austin Purdue — Charleston


Female: Laney Cole —Charleston

Male: Jack Clouse — Huntington


Female: Ashley Keefover — Fairmont

Male: Junior Noss —Kingwood


Female: Ashley Keefover — Fairmont

Male: Justin Sharpe — Morgantown


Female: Kathryn Sharpe — Morgantown

Male: Sam Smith — Huntington


Female: Kristine Price — Princeton

Male: Lucas Viglianco — Saint Albans


Female: Elizabeth Corbitt — Parkersburg

Male: Caleb Perry — Kenova

*Also selected for USYS East Region and National Young Male Referee of the Year**Also selected for USYS East Region Young Female Referee of the Year