Five Referees Among WV Soccer Association Hall of Fame Inaugural Inductees

posted Jan 19, 2015, 6:13 PM by Michael McCarthy   [ updated Oct 7, 2017, 5:52 PM ]
Five referees are among the eleven members of the inaugural Class of 2015 of the WV Soccer Association Hall of Fame:

- Dennis Brumfield (Point Pleasant) - Current State Director of Referee Instruction, Former WVSA President, Region I Treasurer, and US Youth Soccer Treasurer.

- The late Gorden Hearnshaw (Charleston) - Former WVSA State Referee Administrator, coach, referee and player.

- Les Baldwin (South Charleston) - Former WVSA State Referee Administrator, referee, instructor and assessor, administrator of SCDYSL and KVSL

- Eric Wood (Charleston) - Former administrator of KVSL, SWVASL, referee, and instructor and WVSA board

Jane Laraba (Beckley) - Former US Youth Soccer Region I Cup Committee,WVSA administrator, coach, referee and referee instructor

Other inductees in the Class of 2015 include:

- Jay Adams (Wheeling) - Former administrator of Wheeling FC, WVSA and WVSA ODP

- Bob Gray (Huntington) - Two terms as WVSA Director of Coaching, WVSA ODP coach and DOC, current men's head soccer coach of Marshall University

- The late Ken Cross (Elkins) - Former President of WVYSA, administrator, player and coach in Elkins

- Hank Steinbrecher (Meritorious) - Former US Soccer Federation Secretary General and point person for 1994 men's World Cup held in US

- Frank Graziano (Charleston) - SWVASL player, coach, manager, and supporter.

- Scott Fischer (Huntington) - Founder of Soccer Shop Rowdies, former player and coach.

The WVSA Hall of Fame Awards Dinner will be held on February 28, 2015, at the Embassy Suites in downtown Charleston, WV.  Additional Information as well as tickets for the event can be found at